Nandi County voters reject all MCAs, Governor


By Ronald Owili

Voters in Nandi County have rejected all the current Members of County Assembly as well as the incumbent governor Dr. Cleophas Lagat in the Jubilee Party Primaries.

According to official provisional results, Senator Stephen Sang is set to lead Jubilee in the gubernatorial race after garnering 56,511 votes.

Veteran politician Henry Kosgei comes in second with 39,746 votes as incumbent governor Lagat trails with 3,082 votes.

Nandi County Jubilee Party primaries attracted heavyweights in county politics among them incumbent governor Dr. Clephas Lagat, senator Stephen sang, former Industrialization minister Henry Kosgei, Baringo Director of Finance Silas Kipruto, former manager at Eastern Produce Company Peter Kipkemboi Maiyo, Ole Lessos Principal Alphonse Kirwa Misoi and the only female aspirant who is a lecturer at the University of Eldoret Dr Yulita Chebotip Mitei.

After vote tally in various polling stations Tuesday morning, the young senator Stephen Sang awaits confirmation as the second ever Nandi County Governor in the Jubilee Party stronghold.

Also Read  Jubilee Party leadership begs a truce among Murang'a MCA's

Former agriculture Cabinet Secretary Felix Koskei is fourth with 2,987 votes. In the senatorial race, Samson Cherargei is leading the pack with 18,228 votes as Bonuves Tenai trails with 8,229 votes.

The senatorial race attracted 15 aspirants. Vote tallying for the woman representative position indicate that Tecla Chebet Songok likely to be announced the winner with 31,571 votes.

Valentine Chumo follows with 6,495 votes while Zipporah Kering is third with 7,293 votes.

In Nandi Hills constituency, current MP Alfred Keter is leading with 7989 votes. He is followed by former journalist Emmanuel Talam with 2,824 votes.

Official results are expected anytime soon as tallying of votes continues.



Tell Us What You Think