Kenyan students lead in saving lives through blood donation

Written By: Margaret Kalekye/KNA

Students in secondary schools donated over 130,000 pints of blood for use in Kenyan hospitals, according to Deputy Director for Kenya National Blood Transfusion Service, Dr. Josephine Githaiga.

Dr. Githaiga said the donation constituted 80% of 170,000 pints of blood the service secured from Kenyans during the blood donation campaign.

She was speaking at the Ministry of Education headquarters at Jogoo House Monday moments before handing over a Trophy to the Senior Deputy Secretary (SDS), Mrs. Janet Mucheru, in appreciation of the Ministry’s support for the organisation.

Mrs. Mucheru received the trophy on behalf of the Principal Secretary for Basic education, Dr. Belio Kipsang.

She said the Ministry gave the service tremendous support through the schools in discharging its  mandate which is to collect, test, and process and distribute blood and blood products to all transfusing hospitals in the country.

She said blood from students was safer from infections such as HIV, hepatitis B and syphilis.

Also Read  Laikipia leaders support gov’t move to crackdown illegal herders

The Acting Director General, Mr. Robert Masese said the blood donation created an opportunity for students to learn to give something precious to the community without being paid.

“It is more important if young people learn to donate and save a life as it helps mainstream them into patriotism for their nation,” Mr. Masese said.

World Blood donor day is commemorated in countries worldwide on June 14th and serves to raise awareness of the need for safe blood, and to thank blood donors for their contribution.

What is KNBTS

  • The Kenya National Blood Transfusion Service (KNBTS) was established in the year 2000 in the Ministry of Health.
  • Its mandate is to collect, test, process and distribute blood and blood products to all transfusing hospitals in Kenya.
  • KNBTS has six Regional Blood Transfusion Centres (RBTCs) namely Nairobi, Embu, Nakuru, Eldoret, Kisumu and Mombasa and 14 satellite centers located in Machakos, Kisii, Voi, Meru, Naivasha, Kakamega, Kericho, Nyeri, Garissa, Malindi, Thika, Lodwar, Bungoma and Kitale.
Also Read  Kenya’s largest mining project creates 3,400 jobs in Kwale County

Tell Us What You Think