Jubilee MPs endorse nine Cabinet Secretaries



Opposition members of the National Assembly boycotted debate on nominees for cabinet positions leaving only Jubilee MPs to transact the business.

The move gave the Jubilee lawmakers an avenue to heap praises on the nine citing their credentials and contributions in public lives.

NASA MPs abstained from debate on suitability of nine nominees for cabinet secretary positions who were vetted last week. The jubilee mps however engaged on the suitability of the nine candidates who were all approved by the committee on appointments, expressing optimism in the new members of the executive.

Also Read  Court of appeal reinstates Wambora

Majority leader Aden Duale while moving the motion on the report of the cabinet nominees said memoranda filed against two cabinet nominees were unsubstantiated.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 22163

MPs from pastoralist communities thanked the president for considering former Marsabit governor Ukur Yattani and former director of public prosecutions Keriako Tobiko in the new cabinet.

Also Read  Voting underway in Baringo South mini poll

But it is the nominee for sports ministry Rashid achesa who attracted maximum accolades from members for his rise in social status from a boxer to a cabinet secretary.

Also Read  NYS suspects trial to commence in January

Jubilee MPs also took time to criticize the boycott by NASA MPs terming it as an injustice to their electorate.

Meanwhile, the National Assembly will commence vetting of seven new nominees for principal secretary position and seven nominees for ambassadorial positions next week.

Members of the public have until Tuesday next week to file their memoranda on the nominees with parliament.


Tell Us What You Think