Judiciary reshuffles judges



The judiciary has undertaken a number of changes in its latest reshuffle. 

A number of high profile judges have been moved to new work stations and among them is Justice George Odunga who has had a sore relation with some jubilee legislators.

For more than five months Justice George Odunga has been on the spotlight over some of the rulings he has made.

Rulings that saw a section of Jubilee party MPs claim the judge was working for the opposition.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 22163

Last year National Assembly majority leader Aden Duale and Jubilee Party Secretary General Raphael Tuju called for the removal of justice Odunga from all August 8 election cases.

Also Read  The Dangers of Hakuna Matata

And now justice Odunga is among judges who have been reshuffled by Chief Justice David Maraga in the latest move that has seen senior judges moved to different work stations.

Justice Odunga will replace Justice Pauline Nyaweya at the Judicial Review Division.

The changes unveiled in a letter signed by Judge Richard Mwongo also indicate that Justice Mwongo has been moved from Milimani law court to Naivasha while Justice Christine Meoli has been moved from Naivasha High court to Kiambu.

Also Read  First Lady holds talks with Chinese and Qatar envoys

Maraga also transferred Justice Lydia Achode of the Family Division in Nairobi to Eldoret High court while Justice Cecilia Githua of Eldoret will now be stationed at the Civil Division in Nairobi.

Judge George Kimondo who has been in Eldoret was posted to the Kisii High court as the presiding judge.

Number of stations

The first reshuffle was done early this year by Chief Justice David Maraga.

The CJ increased the number of stations from 35 to 40 with the number of judges now standing at 128 up from 105.

Also Read  Diplomatic staffing in advancement of Kenya’s national interest

The new stations are in Makueni, Nyandarua, Kabarnet, and Thika with the Narok/Naivasha court being split between two presiding judges.

Maraga also increased the number of Environment and Land High Court stations with Chuka station now having a judge posted to the division, the Eldoret and Nakuru stations have had the number of judges posted to their Environment and Land courts increased to two; Embu, Garissa, Kajiado, Kakamega, Kericho, Machakos, Migori, and Murang’a all now have judges assigned to the Environment and Land division.

Also read http://www.kbc.co.ke/county-news/chief-justicemaraga-announces-changes-in-the-judiciary/


Tell Us What You Think