KAM elects Paunrana as Chairman

The Board of Kenya Association of Manufacturers (KAM) has elected Mr. Pradeep Paunrana as Chairman of  KAM a spokesperson of the Association has said.

Mrs Flora Mutahi, takes over as Vice Chairlady.

Mr. Paunrana takes the rein from Mr. Polycarp Igathe who in his two-year tenure led KAM to new heights that include a professional, highly visible and financially stable institution with a state of art new building in Westlands Nairobi. Prior to this appointment Mr Paunrana served as Vice Chairman KAM.

He is also the Chief Executive of Athi River Mining.

Mr. Igathe took over the reigns at KAM in 2012 from Mr. Jas Bedi, while he was still the Managing Director of of Haco Tiger brands before moving to head Vivo Energy Kenya.

During his two year term, KAM achieved significant milestones such as lobbying government for adequate electricity, a process that will be completed by the end of 2016 and the industrial sector recorded a positive growth in real output of 4.8 per cent in 2013 compared to 3.2 per cent in 2012.

He will remain an ex-officio member of the board.

“I am happy that the board has elected Mr. Paunrana as its chairman and X as the vice chairman,” said Mr. Igathe, “I have worked with Mr. Paunrana for the last two years as my deputy and he is extremely dedicated to seeing the growth of the manufacturing sector in this country. I think KAM cannot be in better hands, he is an outstanding leader because he has a deep understanding of the issues in the industrial sector.” he added.

As the new chairman of the board of director at KAM, Mr. Pradeep Paunrana, has stated that his vision is the industrialisation of the country through the growth of SMEs, job creation and further expansion of the manufacturing sector.

He has so far adopted a sector based approach by focusing on growing industrial sectors. Mr. Paunrana has been at the helm of the ARM for X years.

Prior to his appointment he served in various committees of the KAM Board before becoming the vice chairman in 2012 when Igathe took over as the Chairman.

Other members of the 17 member Board include, Flora Mutahi, CEO of Melvins International, Helen Kimani of Kevian Kenya, Mucai Kunyiha of Coopers Kenya, Lutaf Kassam of the Aga Khan Fund for Economic Development, Sachen Gudka of Sankem Interlabels, Mahul Shah of Spinknit Limited, Palu Dhanani of Universal Corporation Limited, Bimal Kantaria of Elgon Chemicals, Bharat Shah of Kenafric Industries, Joseph Lithimbi of Associated Motor Vehicle Assemblers Limited, Marc Engel of Unilever Limited, Kaushik  Shah of Mabati Rolling Mills, Muhoho Kenyatta of Brookside Dairy, Stephen Brooks of homa Lime and Rajan Shah of Capwell Industries.