Gor to be crowned SPL champions

Written By: Claire Wanja

2017 SPL
Gor Mahia FC

For the 16th time in their illustrious history, Gor Mahia FC will be crowned the 2017 SportPesa Premier League (SPL) champions Saturday at the lakeside city of Kisumu, the centre of their bedrock support.

The outcome of their final SPL clash against Awendo-based side and bitter rivals Sony Sugar FC, a team ironically referred to as ‘Gor B’, notwithstanding, another spectacle to behold is expected at the Moi Stadium that will culminate with K’Ogalo captain, Musa Mohammed, lifting the glittering trophy.

The club and title-partners, leading bookmakers SportPesa, have spared little to mark the milestone with the grandeur it deserves.

Hordes of Green Army faithful are expected to turn Kisumu into a sea of green and white to celebrate yet another domestic conquest in the best way they know how, with song, dance and party.

In truth, Englishman Dylan Kerr’s side were a cut above the rest in the expanded SPL that featured 18 teams, wrapping the title with four games to spare.

Also Read  Russians could still boycott Winter Olympics

Majestic Gor are threatening to pull clear of their challengers on the all time list after clinching a fourth crown in the last five seasons, a staggering achievement considering before their emphatic run, the proud club had stayed for 18 years without the SPL trophy.

The latest triumph set Gor apart as they moved four clear of eternal rivals and GOtv Shield Cup champions, AFC Leopards SC (12), Tusker FC (11) and Ulinzi Stars FC (four) in the all-time SPL honours list.

Tell Us What You Think