12-member Senate committee still divided on revenue formula

The journey towards finding an acceptable formula to share revenue among counties appears far from over after the 12 member Senate team tasked with building a consensus failed to solve the deadlock on Monday.

This effectively dealt a blow to a planned sitting of the Senate on Tuesday to dispense with the matter that has sharply divided the House.

The legislators spent hours in a closed door meeting for the better part of the day.

Sources at the committee say the 12 Senators are yet to settle on an appropriate formula but says the committee is hopeful that by Thursday there will be a consensus on the divisive shilling.

The committee has so far met with the commission on revenue allocation and treasury as they seek to find a middle ground.

After nine attempts at unlocking the stalemate, Senators opted to appoint a 12 member team to find a suitable formula that will solve the puzzle on how to share out Ksh 316 billion among the 47 counties.

The team will be co-chaired by Bungoma Senator Moses Wetangula and his Nairobi counterpart  Johnson Sakaja.

The committee will include Senators Mutula Kilonzo Jnr (Makueni), Mahamud Mohamed (Mandera), Steward Madzayo (Kilifi), Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet), Susan Kihika (Nakuru), Samson Cherargei (Nandi), Moses Kajwang (Homa Bay), Anwar Oleitiptip (Lamu), Ledama Ole Kina (Narok) and John Kinyua (Laikipia).



Latest posts

Women rights organisations call for proper implementation of SGBV laws

Beth Nyaga

Security agents critisized for failing to put an end to banditry in Laikipia

Beth Nyaga

Public warned against making false rape allegations

Beth Nyaga

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More