Benson Mutura elected new Nairobi County Assembly Speaker

Written By: Muraya Kamunde

Former Makadara Member of Parliament Benson Mutura is the new Speaker of the Nairobi County Assembly.

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

Benson Mutura garnered 99 out of the 123 votes cast by house members in the Friday election that was precipitated by Tuesday’s resignation of Beatrice Elachi as the speaker.

Also Read  Govt moves to resolve land allocation dispute in East Mau

The election was conducted via zoom due to measures put in place to curb the spread of COVID-19.

Mutura was among seven candidates who included Alex Magelo, Abdi Ali Abdi, Odingo Odhiambo Washington, Mike Obonyo Guoro, Allan Chacha Mang’era and Kennedy Okeyo Ng’ondi.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

Mutura’s candidature for the speaker position was backed by both the ruling Jubilee Party and the Orange Democratic Movement in line with the Building Bridges Initiative (BBI).

Also Read  President Uhuru to make remarks in the 75th Session of UNGA

On Thursday, Jubilee Secretary General Raphael Tuju would support Mutura’s candidacy after consultations with Nairobi MCAs elected on the Jubilee Party ticket and the party’s leadership.

Also Read  FKF Electoral Board releases provisional results

Tuju made the announcement at the Jubilee Headquarters in Pangani, after holding a consultative meeting with all the 66 Nairobi MCAs drawn from the party.



Tell Us What You Think