Bouchra is the new CAVB President, Kioni  elected to the  Board

Written By: Bernard Okumu

Newly Elected CAVB President Hajij Bouchra


Hajij Bouchra has been elected as the 5th President of CAVB-The African Volleyball Confederation at the Congress held online to become the first female head of the continental body.

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

CAVB was formed in 1972 with its headquarters in Cairo, Egypt and has 54 member affiliates from across Africa.

Dr. Hajij Bouchra, who is also president of the  Moroccan Volleyball Federation, FIVB vice president of the Executive Committee and CAVB member of the Executive Committee and the board of directors, recorded 42  votes, with incumbent Dr Amr Elwani gathering 12 Votes .

Also Read  FKFPL set to resume as Sharks hosts Bidco today in test run for broadcast sponsors

Due to travel restrictions brought by the coronavirus pandemic, the 2020 Congress was held through virtual conference lasting over 24-hours in 3-days, notably over 15-hours spent on day two before the new president was announced.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

Bouchra, a former Moroccan international (1984 – 2002), now has until 2024 to transform Beach Volleyball and Volleyball (Indoor) in Africa before the next Elective Congress.

Bouchra In her Manifesto, She has promised tones of changes in Africa’s Volleyball in the next 4-years

Also Read  Show us the contract, let's read it then sign,Rachier tells FKF

Bouchra’s first assignment will be to revisit the 2019/2020 CAVB Financials reports and Budgets that were rejected by the 2020 Congress.

Kenya Volleyball Federation chairman Waithaka Kioni was elected to the board as Zone Five deputy president.



Bouhra Hajij – Morocco


Zone I

Adnan BAKBAK – Libya

Zone II

Rodrigues ANTONIO CARLOS – Cape Verde

Zone III

Casimir SAWADOGO – Burkina Faso

Zone IV

Also Read  Kenya's WRC Safari Rally right on track,FIA affirms

Dokony Adiker IDRISS – Chad

Zone V

Waithaka KIONI – Kenya

Zone VI

Fredreck NDLOVU – Zimbabwe


Habu GUMEL – Nigeria

Sanga Issouf KONE – Côte d’Ivoire

Daniel Koboa MOLAODI – Botswana



Zone I

Mustapha LEMOUCHI – Algeria

Zone II

Bai Dodou JALLOW – Gambia

Zone III

Paul ATCHOE – Ghana

Zone IV

Christian MATATA SHWITI – Congo

Zone V

Fernand Sauveur RUTERANA – Rwanda

Zone VI

Khalid CASSAM – Mozambique

Zone VII

Kayseeven TEEROOVENGADUM – Mauritius




Tell Us What You Think