Commitment and dedication as 30 young Kenyans join President’s Award Scheme

Written By: Nicholas Kigondu

Ruiru deputy county commissioner Geoffrey Githinji flags off participants of the President’s Award Scheme

A group of thirty young Kenyans drawn from secondary schools and universities and residing in Ruiru constituency have embarked on a journey to attain the bronze level of the president’s award scheme.

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

The group targets to spend two days hiking and bush trekking across the vast Tatu city property, an adventurous journey which is part of the mandatory 4 levels for one to attain the bronze medal. The programme targets four Sections including Service, Adventurous Journey, Skills and Physical Recreation.

Also Read  President Kenyatta condoles with family of Mzee David Waweru

The group was flagged off by Ruiru deputy county commissioner Geoffrey Githinji, world visually impaired marathon champion Henry Wanyoike and Presidents Award Africa region director, Edwin Kimani.

In Kenya, the Award was introduced in 1966 with Kenya’s first President the Late Mzee Jomo Kenyatta becoming its first Patron and chief trustee. The Award has over the years extended its reach impacting the lives of nearly half a million people.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

Currently, there are over 40,000 young people participating in the Award in over 750 schools, Universities, Middle level Colleges, Youth groups, rehabilitation centres and open Award Centres across the country.

Also Read  India asked to make essential drugs affordable in Kenya
African region President’s Award scheme director Edwin Kimani says the programme was started during the world war era

According to African region President’s Award scheme director Edwin Kimani, the programme was started during the world war era where many youths were affected similar to the current Covid-19 pandemic where many young people have been adversely affected.

Also Read  Embu leaders endorse Governor Mutua for President in 2022 elections

Tell Us What You Think