Court upholds Yatta MP Charles Kilonzo’s win

Written By: Asha Mwana Khamisi/Ben Chumba

The election of Yatta Member of Parliament Charles Kilonzo has been upheld by the High Court in Machakos.

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

Justice Aggrey Muchelule dismissed the petition filed by former MP Francis Mwangangi on grounds that he lacked sufficient evidence and that the case was filed out of time.

Mwangangi was challenging the validity of Kilonzo’s win alleging that there was massive voter bribery, and that his agents were denied access to polling stations.

Mwangangi has however voiced discontent and said he will appeal the judgment in 30 days. Kilonzo was declared winner after garnering 18,320 votes against 11,383 for Mwangangi.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

On Thursday, the High Court ordered partial scrutiny and recount of votes cast for the Embu gubernatorial contest in polling stations specified in the petition.

Also Read  Ngatia shrugs off links to Uhuru, says he will be an independent CJ

High Court Judge Justice William Musyoka ruled that in order to verify who the actual winner of the gubernatorial contest was, the court will subject the votes cast in selected polling centres to a thorough scrutiny.

Votes in several polling stations in Manyatta, Runyenjes and Mbeere South Sub-Counties will be recounted.

Also Read  CoG decries lack of Covid-19 testing kits

In the petition, former Embu Senator Lenny Kivuti  is challenging the victory of  Governor Martin Wambora in the August 8th poll claiming he won the Governor’s seat by at least 453 votes.

While granting the orders, Justice Musyoka ruled that the  evidence adduced during the hearings were sufficient to grant the petitioner his prayers for a recount. The exercise will commence next Monday.

In Lamu, Governor Fahim Twaha has vehemently opposed vote recount prayers as he sought to protect the 121 votes with which he was declared winner in the August polls.

waha claims the scrutiny and recount of votes in disputed polling stations in the County is a waste of public resources. While testifying before Lady Justice Dorah Chepkwony, Governor Fahim said the court had no capacity to conduct the exercise citing its lack of expertise in election matters.

Also Read  Justice William Ouko faces JSC panel for CJ post

Former Governor Issa Timammy is challenging the victory of Governor Twaha on grounds that the Lamu gubernatorial election was not administered in an impartial and neutral manner.

Twaha was declared the winner in the August polls after garnering 22,969 votes against former Governor Issa Timammy’s 22,848 from all the county’s 167 polling stations.


Tell Us What You Think