DP Ruto: Appointment of IEBC chair will not delay 2017 polls


The appointment of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) will not affect the preparations for next year’s General Election, Deputy President William Ruto has said.

Mr Ruto allayed fears that the appointment process of new IEBC commissioners might result in the postponement of next year’s elections.

He asked those spreading propaganda that next year’s General Election will be delayed to stop misleading Kenyans.

“Some people have woken up to the reality that they are not ready for next year’s polls and this is why they are causing panic and confusion among Kenyans,” said Mr Ruto.

Mr Ruto said: “We have put in place adequate measures to ensure elections are held on 8th of August next year because that is what the Constitution says.”

He added: “Those making noise that they want elections pushed are doing so because they are not prepared.”

The Deputy President made the remarks at the African Gospel Church Keringet, Kuresoi South Constituency, Nakuru County on Sunday where he attended a church service.

Mr Ruto was accompanied by Nakuru Governor Kinuthia Mbugua, deputy governor Joseph Ruto and nominated Senator Liza Chelule.

The Deputy President urged aspirants seeking to be elected to conduct their campaigns peacefully and shun practices that may divide Kenyans.

He said: “We will not allow anyone to engage in politics of hatred, division and tribalism.”

Mr Ruto’s sentiments were echoed by the Nakuru Deputy Governor who appealed to leaders and Nakuru County residents to continue living together harmoniously and maintain peace as the country heads towards the 2017 election.

Mr Ruto: “Those who seek to divide us should know there is no room for division in Nakuru County.”

And while addressing wananchi in Kaaga Methodist Church in Imenti North, Meru County, the Deputy President ordered the arrest and prosecution of all individuals behind mismanagement of public resources.

He was accompanied by MPs Kiraitu Murungi (Meru), Rahim Dawood (North Imenti), M’ithika Linturi (Igembe South), Florence Kajuju (Meru), Gideon Mwiti (Imenti South), Kathuri Murungi (South Imenti), Mburi Apuri (Tigania East), Mwiti Iria (Central Imenti), Kubai Iringo (Igembe Central) and Joseph M’eruaki (Igembe North)

He said the Government would make sure all those responsible for misuse of public resources are made to account for their deeds.



Latest posts

Fire breaks out at Ofafa Jericho, Sigalame high schools

Christine Muchira

Covid-19 infections reduce as 655 patients recover

Christine Muchira

Construction of Tunnel begins in Laikipia to deter bandits

Margaret Kalekye

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More