DPP orders arrests of 33 suspects over LBDA mall scandal

Written By: Timothy Kipnusu/Christine Muchira

Director of Public Prosecution has ordered the arrest of 33 individuals in connection with the controversial Ksh4.2 billion Lake Basin Development Authority Mall in Kisumu town.

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

Bobasi member of parliament Innocent Momamyi Obiri and John Zeyun Yang a Chinese nation who is also a director of  Erdemann Property Limited are among the individuals being sought.

The others being sought include Kisumu County Speaker Oyango Oloo and the entire board of the authority accused of inflating the construction of the mall by 57 percent from 2.5 billion shillings to 4.2 without authority from Treasury.

The Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) has been conducting investigation into allegations that the construction of the Lake Basin Development Authority (LBDA) Shopping Mall.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

The EACC, upon completion of the investigation recommended to the Director of Public Prosecution (DPP) to prefer criminal charges against 33 individuals and 2 corporate entities.

Also Read  Echesa facing assault charges to know fate this afternoon

Upon review of the Inquiry file, the DPP concurred with the recommendations by the EACC to charge the following persons:

LBDA board members

  1.         George Onyango Oloo — LBDA Board Member
  2.         Eng. George Omolo Odawa —LBDA Board Member
  3.         Anthony Kiprono Kogo — LBDA Board Member
  4.         David Nyapida Oyosi — LBDA Board Member
  5.         John Nyera Mango — LBDA Board Member
  6.         Boniface Orori Simba — LBDA Board Member
  7.         William Bill Omoding — LBDA Board Member
  8.         Jimmy Wapngana Nabwera — LBDA Board Member
  9.        Alex Jimmy Mukabwa — LBDA Board Member
  10.        Mary Doris Goima Michieka — LBDA Board Member
  11.        Kennedy Otawa Musembe —-LBDA Board Member
  12.        Michael Obora — LBDA Board Member
  13.        Joash Odhiambo DAche — LBDA Board Member
  14.       George Onyango Oloo — LBDA Board Member
  15.       Dennis Sebastien Mulaa — LBDA Board Member
  16.       Josiah Okumu — LBDA Board Member
Also Read  DP Ruto reiterates govt´s commitment to empower youth

LBDA management

17. Eng. Peter Aguko Abok — Former Managing Director – LBDA

Tender evaluation committee

18. CPA Anthony Chebulobi Kisaka – CEO LBDA

19. Nelson Ouma Onyango — Production Technologist

20. Henry Ogwang Odindo — Quantity Surveyor, Quentech

21. Emmmanuel Songoro Milikau — Architect, Symbion

22. Moses Wekesa — Consultant, Symbion

LBDA officials

23.  CPA Onyango Fredrick Chere — Chief Finance Officer

Also Read  465 test positive for Covid as 20 recover

24.  Eng. Godfrey Maina Mwangi — Manager Technical Services and Operations

25.  Albert Ojango Omondi — Internal Auditor

26. Teresia Achieng Ochako — Supplies Office

27. Amelia Jackline Atieno Otono — Legal Officer


28. Zhang Jing — Director, Erdemann Property Limited

29.  John Zeyun Yanga — Director, Erdemann Property Limited

30.  Erdemann Property Limited


31. Oscar Odhiambo Ogunde -— Director, Symbion Kenya Limited

32. Eng. Lydia Owino — Director, Feradon Associates Limited

33. Eng. Vincent Makonjio Ogenge — Director, Feradon Associates Limited

34. Innocent Obiri Momanyi — Managing Director, Quantech Consultancy

35. Symbion Kenya Limited

On 6th of September the EACC effected the arrest of two suspects and is pursuing the rest of the suspects who have been directed to present themselves at Integrity Centre or the nearest EACC office immediately.




Tell Us What You Think