DRC Congo takes over chairmanship of SADC

DRC President Félix Antoine Tshisekedi SADC Chair

Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) Wednesday took over the chairmanship of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) during the 42nd Ordinary SADC Summit held in Kinsasha.

Malawi has been chairing the regional block for the last one year 2021-2022 under the leadership of President Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera.

Ushering in a new era of SADC leadership, President of DRC Félix Tshisekedi in his acceptance speech said he would be active in implementing programs to develop infrastructure and services in the region.

“I would be active in implementing programs to develop infrastructure and services in the region that is directly linked to our main strategies to stimulate economic integration and eradicate poverty in the SADC region,” he said.


At the same time, the President of Namibia Dr. Hage Geingob took over the chairmanship of SADC Organ on Peace, Defence and Security.


The developments come months after DRC Congo was admitted to the East African Community regional block.

In June 2019, Tshisekedi wrote to the then EAC Chairperson, President of Rwanda, Paul Kagame, expressing his country’s wish to be a member of the bloc.

In March DRC Congo was admitted to the EAC during the virtual 19th Extra-Ordinary Summit of EAC Heads of State that was chaired by President Uhuru Kenyatta.

The summit then designated President Kenyatta to sign the treaty of accession of the Democratic Republic of Congo into the East African Community by 14th April 2022.

In April DRC Congo officially became the 7th member of EAC.


The Southern African Development Community (SADC) is a Regional Economic Community comprising 16 Member States; Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

It’s mission is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security.

In 2021 during the 41st Summit of SADC Heads of State and Government when Malawi took over the chairmanship of SADC from Mozambique, the 16 SADC Member States were represented at the Summit which was being held in a blended format with 30 percent physical presence and 70 percent virtual, to curtail the spread of COVID-19.

President Chakwera told the SADC leaders that years of progress in attaining regional integration is being stalled by the pandemic.

Also read https://www.kbc.co.ke/drc-officially-joins-east-african-community/




Latest posts

KTDA fires eight employees linked to former directors

Muraya Kamunde

Costly fuel, electricity push September inflation rate to 9.2pc 

Ronald Owili

EPRA shuts three petrol stations over fuel adulteration

Ronald Owili

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: