Duale survives National Assembly purge, Washiali and Mbarire ousted

Majority Leader in the National Assembly Aden Duale on Tuesday survived the purge being undertaken by President Uhuru Kenyatta in the ongoing Jubilee party leadership changes.

Benjamin Washiali was however not so lucky as he has been replaced by Emmanuel Wangwe as the Majority Whip in the National Assembly after President Kenyatta chaired a Parliamentary Group (PG) meeting in his capacity as the Coalition’s Party Leader.

Nominated MP Cecily Mbarire during the PG meeting was also replaced by Richard Maoka Maore as the Deputy Whip.

Further, the party leader appointed Amos Kimunya to serve as the Secretary of the Jubilee Coalition Joint Parliamentary Group.

In attendance was Deputy President Dr William Ruto who is also the Jubilee Coalition’s Deputy Party Leader, Party Secretary-General Raphael Tuju and a total of 212 Members of Parliament.

Justin B Muturi during the meet was endorsed to continue serving as the Speaker of the National Assembly, Moses Cheboi to continue serving as the Deputy Speaker, and Jimmy Angwenyi to continue serving as the Deputy Majority Leader.

The changes are expected to be communicated to the Speaker today (Tuesday).


Latest posts

Government to restructure primary healthcare system, NHIF

Christine Muchira

NPS advertises DCI boss position to replace Kinoti

Muraya Kamunde

Cabinet Secretaries to appear in Parliament to enhance accountability

Hunja Macharia

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: