Government to deworm school going children in 14 counties

The government is targeting  to deworm four million school children aged 2-14 years in 14 counties at risk of worm infection during the National School-Based Deworming  Program (NSBD) that kicks off tomorrow 14 to the 16 of September 2021.

For thirteen years the ministry of education,  in partnership with the ministry of health has been providing deworming treatment in schools to children who are at risk of contracting intestinal worms, a condition that affects their health, nutrition, and overall well-being. 

 A recent study by the Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI) shows the reduction in the prevalence of soil-transmitted helminths (STH)   by 62 per cent  between 2012 and 2018.

The counties targeted  include Narok, Nyamira, Kisii, Migori, Busia, Siaya, Kisumu, Homa Bay, Lamu, Tana River, Kilifi, Mombasa, Kwale, and Taita Taveta Counties.

The deworming treatment will be administered in over 19,000 primary schools and ECD centres by trained schoolteachers.


Latest posts

Vaccination drive for the matatu sector launched

English Service Reporter 2

Former Sports CS Hassan Wario fined 3.6 sentnced to 6 years in prison

English Service Reporter 2

CS Munyes, Keter summoned over high fuel prices

English Service Reporter 2

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More