Farah, Bolt up for top award

By SkySports/Evelyne Wareh

British Olympic star Mo Farah has been nominated in the IAAF World Athlete of the Year awards.

Farah, who successfully defended his 5,000m and 10,000m titles at Rio 2016, is the only Briton on a list which comprises 10 male and 10 female athletes respectively.

At a December ceremony to be held in Monaco, Farah will come up against the likes of Usain Bolt, new 400m world record holder Wayde van Niekerk, and Brazil’s shock Olympic pole vault champion Thiago Braz da Silva.

The last British athlete to win the award was Paula Radcliffe, who claimed the  women’s title in 2002, while the last British male to triumph was Jonathan Edwards in 1995.

The full list of nominees is:

Men: Usain Bolt; Thiago Braz da Silva; Ashton Eaton; Mo Farah, Eliud Kipchoge; Conseslus Kipruto; Omar McLeod; David Rudisha; Christian Taylor; Wayde van Niekerk.

Women: Almaz Ayana; Ruth Beitia; Vivian Cheruiyot; Kendra Harrison; Caterine Ibarguen; Ruth Jebet; Sandra Perkovic; Caster Semenya; Elaine Thompson; Anita Wlodarczyk.


Latest posts

FIFA U 20 World Cup qualifier: Rising Starlets brace for Uganda test

Bernard Okumu

Kenya Police FC bullish ahead of debut in top flight

Bernard Okumu

Barcelona held as under pressure Koeman is sent off

Bernard Okumu

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More