Facebook which is devoted to making the world more connected will now help couples break up.
Having to see your ex on Facebook may be one of the worst things about the site.
It’s even more brutal when you notice that person’s surname has since changed.
But the company is determined to fix that, after launching a new tool on its mobile app to help users take the pain out of a relationship breakup.
Facebook’s new break-up tool is about altering what an ex can see, but without them knowing you’ve done anything.
When you change your relationship status to ‘single,’ Facebook will ask if you want to ‘take a break’ from seeing pictures and posts of your ex.
“We are testing tools to help people manage how they interact with their former partners on Facebook after a relationship has ended,” Product Manager Kelly Winters said.
“When people change their relationship status to indicate they are no longer in a relationship, they will be prompted to try these tools.”
The tools also limit pictures, videos or status updates that an ex can see, and let people “untag” themselves from posts with former partners.
“We hope these tools will help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort and sense of control,” Winters said.
For some, ending a relationship has meant going back through years of photos and status messages, deleting or at least untagging them.
Perhaps you want to remain Facebook friends, but don’t particularly want to see that person’s posts in your news feed, or have your old flame see statuses about your new one.
Relationships on Facebook are a big deal – a judge in New York said using Facebook to send a divorce summons was completely legal.
Facebook is testing the feature with United States users on mobile devices, the company said, and will “make changes and roll them out further based on people’s feedback.”