Home NEWS County News Team picked to oversee upgrade of Machakos townships

Team picked to oversee upgrade of Machakos townships

Targeted towns are Masii, Masinga, Mwala and Kathiani

Governor Wavinya Ndeti

Machakos could soon get additional municipalities should the ad hoc committee established to consider the conferment of several urban centres to municipal status sails through.

On Monday, the Machakos county boss witnessed the swearing-in of a 13-member Ad hoc committee that will look into the possibility of elevating four major towns into municipalities.

The towns earmarked for elevation into municipal status include Masii/Mwala, Masinga/Kivaa Ekalakala, Matuu/Kithimani, Mwala/Masii and Kathiani/Mitaboni.

So far Machakos County boasts of three municipalities which include Machakos, Mavoko and Kangundo Tala.

Speaking during the swearing-in ceremony, Wavinya said the clamour for the elevation of the four additional urban centres into municipalities was driven by the growing need for effective and efficient service delivery to Machakos residents.

“Establishing urban institutions that are people-centred, well planned, well managed and adequately funded is the first step of attending to urbanization and the emerging challenges of climate change,” Governor Wavinya said.

Wavinya said the conferment of the municipal status of the listed towns was a developmental issue as the successful entities will become decentralized units of the county Government and attract funding for development by investors and development partners.

She pledged that her government will offer full support to the committee through the county department of Lands, Housing, Urban Development and Energy headed by Nathaniel Nganga.

The Ad hoc committee comprises professionals drawn from various professional bodies including the Kenya Institute of Planners, the Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya (ICPAK), the Law Society of Kenya and the Kenya National Chamber of Commerce and Industry (KNCCI) among others.

At the same time, Wavinya witnessed the swearing-in of a selection panel for the recruitment of the secretary of the County Public Service Board.

The members included Gregory Kavua who will chair the panel, John Mwangi, Ruth Mutindi and Deborah Muia.

The officials were sworn in by Machakos chief magistrate Mary Otindo.




Website | + posts