Gor crowned 2019 Kenyan Premier league champions

Written By: KBC Reporter


Gor Mahia were officially crowned the 2019 Kenyan Premier league champions for the third time in a row in a colorful ceremony held Saturday evening at the Machakos County Stadium.

KOgalo received the KPL trophy after they were held to a one all draw by Posta Rangers in Machakos in their second last match this season.

Also Read  Manvir wins KCB Kilifi Rally as Chager clings on KNRC lead

The team coached by Hassan Oktay now tops the league standings on 71 points with one match to play this season against Mathare United.

Bandari FC lie second in the league table with 62 points while 2009 champions Sofapaka is third with 58 points.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

Next season KO’galo is likely to miss the services of striker Jacques Tuyisenge who is expected to join Angolan giants Petro Atletico end of this season.

Also Read  Kenya Lionesses finish second in Rugby Africa Women’s Cup

In other matches played Saturday, Mathare United beat Chemelil1-0 at their backyard in Chemelil while Sony Sugar was held to a barren draw Nzoia Sugar in Awendo.

Also Read  Onyala inspires KCB RFC through to Prinsloo 7s quarters

Tell Us What You Think