Gor Mahia crowned 2015 Premier League champs

By Buckley Fedha

Defending champions Gor Mahia confirmed their unbeaten status in the Sportpesa Premier League with a deserved 2-0 win over Muhoroni Youth in their final match of the 2015 season played Sunday at the Nyayo national stadium.

Kogalo’s goals were netted by Ali Abondo and the sensational Michael Olunga.

Decked in their signature green and white team costumes, hundreds of Gor Mahia fans had been spotted early Sunday morning in the streets of  Nairobi all heading to the Nyayo national stadium.

Police had a hard time to disperse some of the fans who were forcing their way in to the stadium before the match begun. And despite the heightened security witnessed at the ground, the fans were not scared of making merry.

After finding their way in, the crowd in the stadium showed their unity and support for Kogalo by singing the Gor Mahia anthem.

The fans vowed to support the club in good and bad times.  It is through the support behind them, that the players inspired each other on and off the pitch, bringing the best out of the squad that has played 30 matches unbeaten.

2015 Title

29 matches without a loss and only six draws is what Gor Mahia brought into their game against Muhoroni Youth at the Nyayo national stadium as they looked to ensure that the season ends without a loss.

And they faced a Muhoroni Youth side that wanted to dent that record and for the better part of the first half Muhoroni’s game plan worked.

The second half begun with pace and Kogalo proved just why they have lost only a single match this year, that came at the final of the CECAFA tournament, when Ali Abondo scored the first goal.

Muhoroni pushed for an equalizer but with his scoring form both at club and national team evident, the second goal for Kogalo eventually came through Michael Olunga, with the source and quality of it not a surprise.

The title was already in Kogalo’s cabinet but the win was the best way to end a season that has seen Gor Mahia lose only 12 points. They finish the league with a whopping 78 points, 20 points above second placed Ulinzi Stars who drew 0-0 with Bandari.

In the last five years, the title has only been in the hands of two teams, Gor Mahia who have won since 2013 to date and Tusker FC who won in 2011 and 2012.

And while Kogalo’s fans were celebrating at the top, KCB and Nakuru All Stars fans were shedding tears after their teams were relegated.

In other final results; AFC Leopards were beaten 3-1 by Tusker FC, Chemelil Sugar drew with Mathare United 1-1, City Stars also drew 1-1 with Sony Sugar, Nakuru All Stars played to a goalless draw with Ushuru, Sofapaka defeated Thika United 2-1 while Western Stima also drew 1-1 with KCB.


Latest posts

Kenyan Premier League kick off dates moved again

Bernard Okumu

World Cup 2022: KBC TV to air 28 matches

Bernard Okumu

Kibiko athletics center: on a mission to brood upcoming track stars

Bernard Okumu

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: