Governor Joho names new cabinet

Written By: KNA

Mombasa Governor, Hassan Joho, Friday announced his partial cabinet where four County Executive Committee Members (CECs) retained their jobs. 

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

The County has been without a cabinet for the last two months following the expiry of a two-year contract of 10 executive committee members on November 12, 2019.

The CECs were asked to hand over their offices to their respective chief officers who were to take charge of the departments until the announcement of the new cabinet.

Also Read  KNH workers issue seven day strike notice

Those whose contracts were renewed are Mariam Mbaruk (Finance and Planning), Geoffrey Nyongesa (Environment, Waste Management and Energy), Hazel Koitaba (Health) and Taufiq Balala (Water, Sanitation and Natural Resources).

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

Besides Balala who has been transferred from his former docket of Transport, Infrastructure and Public Works, all the other three county executives retained their former departments.

Also Read  Youth warned against engaging in cybercrime activities

According to the statement from the County Director of Communication Richard Chacha, the other six appointments will take place in due course.

Also Read  Maraga opposes lowering the bar for appointment of judges

On Monday this week, the Commission for Human Rights and Justice (CHRJ) wrote to Joho and gave him 14 days to appoint a new cabinet or face legal suit.

Its executive director Julius Ogogoh said the delay was denying the residents the right to get services arising from the appointments.


Tell Us What You Think