Gov’t suspends curfew in parts of Baringo North, Tiaty for four days

Baringo County Commissioner, Abdirisack Jaldesa, has announced the lifting of the dusk-to-dawn curfew the government had imposed in parts of Baringo North and Tiaty in June this year following an escalating wave of banditry attacks.

Jaldesa, during a press briefing in his Kabarnet office on Monday, said that the four days lifting will facilitate a smooth election process in the volatile areas of Tiaty East and West as well as Saimo Soi and Bartabwa wards in Baringo North.

He said that the suspension takes effect from Monday stating that Deputy County Commissioners in the affected areas have been notified of the government decision meant to allow election materials and personnel to be ferried to polling stations and return to Constituency, Tallying Centres, at any time of the day after the conclusion of voting.

“Residents should feel free to cast their votes now that we have suspended the curfew,” he said.

He stated that the cessation will enable election officials and other stakeholders to access the area without any major challenges.

Jaldesa accompanied by County Police Commander, Adams Bungei, said that the area has been enjoying relative calm for quite some time now courtesy of the formed units who are patrolling the area, especially insecurity-prone zones.

He stated that they have deployed about 2,500 officers to over 920 polling centres across the seven sub-counties who will provide round-the-clock security to ensure voting goes on without any hitch on Tuesday.

“Apart from those who will be manning the polling stations, constituency and County Tallying Centres, we shall be having standby officers to respond to any emerging threat,” he said.

Jaldesa announced that following extensive consultation with IEBC and local residents, more than 10 polling centres have been relocated to safer grounds in Mukutani Ward of Baringo South due to insecurity challenges.

He said that voters who had registered at Lekiricha ECDE will now vote at Keripari while Rugus Primary has been merged with Kiserian Primary, those registered at Tarapore mobile centre will vote at Sokotei Primary while those from Arabal Primary, Kabindasum, Ramacha ECDE, and Partal ECDE will cast their vote at Chemorongion primary.

“Those from Ngelecha Primary and Laramoru will vote at Kabel Primary School while those who had registered at Akule dam mobile centre, Murat Primary and Lendorok mobile centre will be allowed to vote at Logumgum Primary School,” he stated.

The County Commissioner stated that they have established a command centre with hotlines where they shall be monitoring the general elections in a bid to deal with any emerging cases.

Jaldesa urged local residents to turn up in large numbers to exercise their constitutional democratic rights of electing their representatives while asking them to vote peacefully and leave the announcement of the results to the mandated officials.

Bungei reiterated that security has been beefed up in the county and more patrols shall be carried out during the entire elections period to ensure that the process is smooth and the lives of the people are well protected.

He added that they will not tolerate those who will be engaging in election malpractices like voter bribery warning that those found breaking the law will be dealt with accordingly.


Latest posts

Youth empowered under ‘Ujuzi Manyatani’ along border of warring communities

KBC Digital

Tourists flock Lamu for annual cultural festival

Christine Muchira

Laikipia leaders call for unity, end to banditry

Christine Muchira

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: