The nominees for the 14th Annual Groove Awards have been unveiled at an exclusive red carpet event held at the Kenya National Theatre last evening.

Receiving the highest nominations for a second year running was Jabidii. Last year, he received 7 nominations which made him the highest nominated artist in the history of Groove Awards. This year, he has smashed his own record by bagging 11 impressive nominations including the highly contested Artist of the Year category, Collabo of the Year, Song of the Year, Teens Choice Song of the Year (in which he received 2 nominations ), Reggae/Ragga Song of the Year, Breakthrough Artist of the year, Collabo of the year and Dance style/song of the Year – a category that saw him receive 3 nominations. He was followed by Timeless Noel and Moji ShortBabaa who received 6 nominations each.

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable
Daddy Owen

This year has seen the introduction of new categories following continuous insights and changing industry dynamics. There was a split of the Breakthrough Artists Category to accommodate both the Male and Female artists separately and the introduction of new categories; – Online/Digital Personality of the Year, Young Groover of the Year  and the Diaspora Artists of the Year category respectively.

Also Read  5 Kenyan fashion design houses

Public participation in the nomination process having been introduced last year continues to generate a lot of excitement amongst stakeholders and the industry, giving greater ownership and participation to music fans across the country.

Also Read  Are you the toxic one?

The theme of this year’s awards show is: “Better Together.” It focuses on the message of unity in building better relationships, synergies and societies. It encourages a spirit of togetherness and highlights how togetherness helps build powerful and stronger bonds.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

Online voting on the Groove website has began and SMS voting will be introduced on Wednesday 15th May 2019 to compliment online voting and will run concurrently until midnight 31st May 2019.

Also Read  Are you the toxic one?

This year’s winners will be announced on 1st June 2019 at the Gala Awards ceremony, to be held in Nairobi.

A winner’s concert is then slated shortly after the awards ceremony on 8th June 2019 in Mombasa.


Tell Us What You Think