Haaland lifts 2020 Golden Boy European award

Written By: Bernard Okumu


Borussia Dortmund forward Erling Braut Haaland has won the 2020 Golden Boy award for the best under-21 player playing in a European country’s top division.

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

The 20-year-old Norway international finished ahead of Barcelona and Spain’s Ansu Fati and Bayern Munich’s Canadian left-back Alphonso Davies.

Also Read  FIFA earmarks Kenyan referee Mary Njoroge for World Cup duty

Haaland has scored 27 goals in 29 appearances for the Bundesliga side.

Also Read  CAF president Ahmad Ahmad banned from football for five years

Atletico Madrid forward Joao Felix won the award in 2019.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

Also in contention for the top prize were Haaland’s club team-mate and England forward Jadon Sancho and Manchester United striker Mason Greenwood.

Also Read  Rachier heels dug in as Gor-FKF stand  off looms over league terms

Previous English winners of the award are Wayne Rooney in 2004 and Raheem Sterling in 2014.


Tell Us What You Think