Harambee Stars step up preparations ahead of crucial qualifiers

VIACliff Riang'a
Written By: Cliff Riang'a

Harambee Stars has on Monday, March 1, 2021, stepped up preparations ahead of the upcoming three friendlies and 2021 AFCON Qualifier back-to-back matches against Egypt and Togo in March.

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

19 local-based players initially called up took part in the evening session with Wazito trio Peter Odhiambo, Johnstone Omurwa and Kevin Kimani, Gor Mahia duo Kenneth Muguna and John Macharia, and Nairobi City Stars Oliver Maloba missing the session due to club assignments in the BetKing Premier League while Gor Mahia’s Benson Omalla, is out on school assignments.

Also Read  Jose Mourinho has been sacked by Tottenham after just 17 months in charge

The players settled in at camp on Sunday and will leave on Tuesday, allowing them to report to their respective clubs on Wednesday.

Stars will play South Sudan in their first friendly on March 13, 2021, before hosting Tanzania in back-to-back matches on March 15, 2021, and March 18, 2021, in Nairobi.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

The team will then host Egypt on March 22, 2021, before traveling to Togo for the 2020 Africa Cup of Nations final qualifying rounds on March 30, 2021.

Also Read  European Super League; house of cards as football wins

These matches will be used as build-up matches towards the upcoming 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers that get underway in June 2021.

Provisional Squad


Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks), James Saruni (Ulinzi Stars), Joseph Okoth (KCB), Peter Odhiambo (Wazito), Sam Adisa (Bidco).


Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito), Michael Kibwage (Sofapaka), Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks), Nahashon Alambi (KCB), Bonface Onyango (Kariobangi Sharks), David Owino (KCB), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks), Baraka Badi (KCB)

Also Read  European Super League: Premier League's 'big six' agree to join new league


Lawrence Juma (Sofapaka), Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia), Collins Shichenje (AFC Leopards), Micheal Mutinda (KCB), Musa Masika (Wazito), John Macharia (Gor Mahia), Reagan Otieno (KCB), James Mazembe (Kariobangi Sharks), Oliver Maloba (Nairobi City Stars), Bonface Muchiri (Tusker), Kevin Kimani (Wazito), Abdalla Hassan (Bandari)


Erick Kapaito (Kariobangi Sharks), Elvis Rupia (AFC Leopards), Henry Meja (Tusker), Benson Omalla (Gor Mahia)


Tell Us What You Think