Immigration: Tourists to submit visa applications online

Written By: Claire Wanja

All arriving passengers on international flights whose body temperature is NOT above 37.5° C (99.5°F); do NOT have a persistent cough, difficulty in breathing or other flu-like symptoms; have negative PCR based COVID – 19 test carried out within 96 hours before travel and are from countries considered low to medium risk COVID – 19 transmission areas shall be exempt from quarantine.

Immigration services director general Alexander Muteshi says anyone visiting Kenya as a tourist or for any other purpose and who require visas to enter Kenya, can now apply for the Kenya visa online using the link

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

“Online Visa application is highly encouraged especially at this period of COVID-19 Pandemic.” Said the director General

The international flights are set to resume this Saturday

President Uhuru Kenyatta said air travel will resume with strict conformity with all protocols from the Ministry of Health, local and international civil aviation authorities, and any additional requirements applicable at the ports of departure, arrival or transit.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

In March, the government issued a directive that required all incoming and outgoing international passenger traffic to and from Kenya due to COVID-19 pandemic in order to curb the spread of the disease.

Also Read  Developers urged to construct houses with amenities 

This is a relief to the industry that has incurred major losses.

Earlier, Kenya Airways said it had so far lost 10 billion shillings to due COVID-19 related travel restrictions and estimated the amount could hit 50 billion shillings if flights remained grounded for the rest of the year.

Also Read  Mitumba traders ask govt to clear way for resumption of trade

Meanwhile, the Ministry of Transport has cleared 11 countries for resumption of international flights to Kenya scheduled to commence on 1st August.

The countries cleared are China, South Korea, Japan, Canada, Zimbabwe Ethiopia, Switzerland, Rwanda, Uganda, Namibia and Morocco.

While making the announcement Thursday, Transport Cabinet Secretary James Macharia said passengers from the selected countries will be exempted from the mandatory quarantine if they test for COVID-19, 96 hours before travel and exhibit no symptoms of the Virus.

Macharia says the 11 countries have exhibited mild or limited community transmissions or they have declining cases.

Also Read  International Rugby set to resume in October

Passengers from these countries will also be exempted from the mandatory quarantine if they tested negative of the virus 96 hours before travel and they show no symptoms of the virus.

Those who will arrive or have flights during curfew hours must show valid boarding documents to the authorities with their drivers also showing proof that they were at the airport.

Airlines have been directed to provide passengers with relevant information about COVID-19 preventive measures especially in instance where physical distancing is hard to implement.



Tell Us What You Think