Jubilee, UDA win Hell’s Gate and London ward seats respectively

The new Member of County Assembly-Elect for Nakuru’s London Ward is Anthony Nzuki of UDA who garnered 1,707 votes to beat Jubilee Party’s Francis Njoroge who garnered 1,385 votes.

Nzuki was declared winner by the IEBC Returning Officer Gilbert Serem.

Bernard Kariuki of the People’s Empowerment Party (PEP), came third with 891 votes in an exercise marked by poor voter turnout and chaos which stood at 24.71 per cent.

A total of 4,541 votes were cast in a cosmopolitanward that has 18,380 registered voters.

The seat fell vacant when area Member of County Assembly Samuel Mbugua died in November last year.

Other candidates in the race included, Bernard Maina (People’s Empowerment Party) 891 votes, Alex Maina (New Democratic Party) 219 votes, Assumpta Wangui (Independent candidate) 70 votes, among others.

The race in Naivasha’s Hell’s Gate ward had been reduced to a contest between the two political parties fronting Jonathan Kuria Warothe (UDA) and Jubilee flagbearer Virginia Wamaitha.

In London Ward, UDA’s Antony Nzuki supporters broke into song and dance moments after results streaming in put him in the lead.

There was confusion when his agents declared victory as vote tallying continued amid tight security.

Congratulatory messages started pouring in from DP allies led by Senator Kipchumba Murkomen shortly before 10 pm.

The ward mini poll was earlier in the day marred by chaotic scenes that saw four journalists injured.

Police were forced to lobbed teargas canisters to disperse senators Susan Kihika (Nakuru), Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet) and other Tanga Tanga MPs who are the chief agents for the UDA candidate.

In Makueni, Wiper Party’s Sebastian Muli is the new MCA for Kitise/Kithuki ward.

Muli garnered 3,865 votes beating Muungano Party candidate Joseph Kioko who got 854 votes.

In Kisii County’s Kiamokama ward by-election, the ODM candidate Malachi Matara Mainya is the MCA-elect after he emerged winner with a total of 1,907 votes.

Daniel Ondari of PED came second with 1,257 votes a head of two other close contestants, Steven Nyakeriga of PPP with 1004 with Nyandusi Nyakeramba of UDA getting 491.

The mini-poll attracted 11 candidates.


Latest posts

Multi-agency security team busts fuel siphoning syndicate in Mombasa

Eric Biegon

Elders in Kisumu endorse Governor Nyong’o for re-election

Eric Biegon

University Education: JOOUST to establish a satellite campus in Budalangi

Eric Biegon

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More