Kipruto wins steeplechase race in IAAF Diamond league

By KBC Reporter

Olympic champion Conseslus Kipruto won the 3000m steeplechase race in the IAAF Diamond league final competition held Friday night in Brussels Belgium.

World 10,000m record holder Almaz Ayana of Ethoipia won the women’s 5000m race. This was the last Diamond League meeting this year out of the 14 league meetings

Conseslus Kipruto clocked 8 minutes 3.74 seconds falling short in his world record attempt followed by Evan Jager of USA who clocked 8 minutes 4;01 seconds.

Mahiedine Mekhissi of France was third finishing in a time  of 8 minutes 8.15 seconds. Kenyans Nicholas Bett and Abraham Kibiwott finished fourth and fifth positions respectively.

The 21-year-old Kipruto has long been overshadowed by the legendary Ezekiel Kemboi, but managed to outpace his mentor to win gold at the Rio Olympic Games.

This season he has been winning his races with apparent ease and holds the world leading time of 8 minutes 00.12 seconds which is aslo his personal best.

Ethiopia’s Almaz Ayana the reigning 10,000 Olympic champion and world record holder claimed victory in the 5000m clocking 14 minutes 18.89 seconds.

Rio Olympics silver medallist Hellen Obiri of Kenya settled for second position in 14 minutes 25.78 seconds. Ethiopia’s Senbere Teferi was third after clocking 14 minutes 25.82 seconds.


Latest posts

Wario sentenced to a heavy jail term over financial impropriety at 2016 Olympics

Maxwell Wasike

Bitok hopeful of reaching finals at the continental showpiece

Maxwell Wasike

American sprinter arrives ahead of Kip Keino Classic

Maxwell Wasike

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More