Kirui, Kiplagat to lead Kenyan line-up in Boston marathon

World champion Geoffrey Kirui and two-time World champion Edna Kiplagat will lead Kenya’s elite athletes at this year’s Boston marathon set to be held Monday afternoon.

The line-up will feature nine previous winners of the Boston Marathon. Defending champion Yuki Kawauchi, World champion Geoffrey Kirui and two-time Boston Marathon champion Lelisa Desisa leads the men’s field alongside 2016 Boston winner Lemi Berhanu and 2012 Boston champion Wesley Korir.

The five former champions will line up alongside two-time Amsterdam Marathon champion Lawrence Cherono and Ethiopian duo Sisay Lemma and Solomon Deksisa.

Eritrea’s 2015 World marathon champion Ghirmay Ghebreslassie and six-time world half marathon champion Zersenay Tadese will also line up in Boston.

In the women’s race, defending champion Desiree Linden will take on two-time world champion Edna Kiplagat, 2015 Boston Marathon champion Caroline Rotich and 2012 Boston Marathon winner Sharon Cherop.

The quartet of previous  Boston winners will line up against a trio of Ethiopian women with sub-2:20, three-time Dubai Marathon winner Aselefech Mergia, 2015 world champion Mare Dibaba and 2017 Dubai winner Worknesh Degefa.

Kenya’s 2012 Olympic 10,000m silver medalist Sally Kipyego will also line up in Boston, while Sara Hall and Lindsay Flanagan will lead the US contingent.


Latest posts

FC Talanta signs 3 year sponsorship deal with betting firm 10bet

Hunja Macharia

Arrest made in Rwanda over volleyball scandal

Bernard Okumu

Kenya face Mozambique in decisive AFROBASKET  round of 16 clash

Bernard Okumu

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More