Kunal, Sahib crowned 2019 KCB Autocross champions

Written By: Claire Wanja

Coast Rally Champion, Naushad Karal, Holds his trophies aloft after winning the 4wdturbo class during the KCB 10th autocross held in Vipingo looking onis Coast Regional Sales Manager KCB Bank, Brendan Obeto.

Sahib Omar and Kunal Patel were crowed the 2019 champions as  the KCB Kenya National Autocross 10 came to a dramatic and at Mombasa Cement Factory racetrack in Kilifi County.

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

Despite failing to run the last heat due to a miss, Nairobi’s Sahib retained the 4WD Turbo title after a good battle with eventual class winner and Coast Champion Nashad Kara.

Third overall place was enough for Sahib to savor back to back titles in a season he swept the ground with all his opponents.

Also Read  Floyd death: sports personalities join protests against racism

Sahib had accumulated an unassailable lead in class going into the last round but was compelled to run the season closing Mombasa round ostensibly to meet the 80% threshold for Championship success.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

Nanyuki’s Kunal Patel celebrated his maiden Championship in Two Wheel Drive Turbo Class after winning the last round.

Also Read  Lewandowski scores twice as Bayern beat Fortuna 5-0
Nanyuki team, Ken Nteere, speeds past the puddle, during the KCB 10thautocross held in Vipingo

Kunal had his campaign effectively sewn up when his closest challenger Shalien Mughal retired after getting stuck in the first heat.

Kunal who led at penultimate stage and Shalien were separated by 7 points going into the last round.

Amit Vaja won the Open Class while Illiyun Mughal won Bambino Class.

Also Read  Floyd death: sports personalities join protests against racism

The Autocross series has been to Mai Mau Mahiu, Nanyuki, Kasarani and Jamhuri Park.

KCB Autocross 10 Results

4WD Turbo class

  • Naushad Kara (Subaru) 10.05.00
  • Ali Mirza (Evo7) 10.35.00
  • Sahib Omar (10.53.00
  • Ken Nteere 10.55.00

2WD Turbo Class

  • Kunal Patel 10.50.00
  • Shaz Esmail 11.22.00
  • Inderjeet Puee 11.59.00
  • Zubair Nanji 14.10.00
  • Azaad Manji 12.23.00
  • A Puee 14.01.00
  • Shalien Mughal DNF
  • Imran Hakada DNF

Open Class

  • Amit Vaja 11.40.00

Tell Us What You Think