Lamu Governor opposes calls for scrutiny and recount of votes

Written By: Brenda Czeda Radido/Samuel Musita

According to Twaha, the court was not prepared to do the recount claiming IEBC was more competent.

Lamu Governor Fahim Twaha is opposing calls for scrutiny and recount of votes in some disputed polling stations terming it a mere waste of public resources and time.

Twaha who appeared before Lady Justice Dorah Chepkwony together with his Deputy Abdulhakim Aboud said the court had no capacity to conduct the exercise as they were not experts on election matters.

According to Twaha, the court was not prepared to do the recount claiming IEBC was more competent.

However former Lamu governor who is challenging the victory of Twaha maintains there is need for scrutiny and recount of the votes if the Governor was confident of his victory.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

The deputy governor who is a former IEBC constituency returning officer and Registration officer for Lamu also dismissed claims that he influenced his former colleagues at IEBC to forge victory during the August 8 elections.

Also Read  The weatherman warns of heavy rains

Twaha was declared the winner with 22,969 votes against former Governor Issa Timammy’s 22,848 from all the county’s 167 polling stations.

Meanwhile, the high court has ordered for the scrutiny and recount of votes for the Embakasi South Constituency for polling stations specified in the petition.

Also Read  World Bank partners with Counties to mitigate floods and drought

Justice Grace Nzioka ordered each party to nominate at least two agents to represent them in the exercise.

However in challenging the application for scrutiny and recount of votes, Embakasi South MP Julius Musili Mawathe produced video evidence in court to support claims that the petitioner has tampered with the ballot boxes.

In the petition former Embakasi South MP Irshad Sumra of ODM is challenging the victory of Wiper’s Mawathe in the August 8 poll on grounds that there was a mix up of votes in the counting exercise.

Elsewhere, Migori High Court has allowed the scrutiny of forms 35As that were used in the declaration of the results for Member of Parliament in Suna West in all the 88 polling stations.

Also Read  President commends rescue teams following Wilson Airport incident

The results declared aspirant on independent ticket Peter Masara as the winner ousting Joseph Ndiege who lodged a petition against the election.

High Court judge Hillary Chemitei said the submissions made by Ndiege and former Member of Parliament was only allowed on the scrutiny of the forms that were used to declare the results at the polling stations and then produced in the same court after seven days.


Tell Us What You Think