Lewis Nguyi appointed new NHIF chairperson

Written By: Margaret Kalekye/Collins Anampiu

NHIF to cover COVID-19 patients in MoH designated facilities

President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed new chairpersons of three key state corporations under the Ministry of Health.

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

The institutions affected in the latest changes contained in a special gazette notice dated February 23 include; National Health Insurance Fund (NHIF), Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI) and the Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital (MTRH).

Also Read  Joho says coast political unity party agenda still on course

Lewis Nguyi is the new chairman of NHIF Board taking over from Hannah Muriithi who has been at the helm of the board since April 2018.

The changes at the insurance fund come at a time when the fund is implementing the Universal Health Coverage (UHC).

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

The President also appointed Sitoyo Lopokoiyit as the chairperson of the board of the Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital (MTRH). He takes over from former Eldoret East MP Joseph Lagat.

Also Read  Governor Mvurya calls for improved service delivery to public

Lopokoiyit has been working at Safaricom since April 2018, having previously served as M-Commerce Director at Vodacom Tanzania. Lopokoiyit takes over on March 29.

Also Read  Kuria community to use cultural intervention in search of illegal firearms

In the notice, the President picked Dr Daniel Mbinda Musyoka as the chairman of the board of Kemri and revoked the appointment of Naftali Agata.

They will all serve for a period of three years.



Tell Us What You Think