LIVE UPDATES: Gubernatorial Results #KenyaDecides2022

“I wish to take this opportunity to congratulate our incoming Governor for the County of Machakos Hon. Wavinya Ndeti. I wish her & her team every success as she takes over the reigns of the County 016,” says Nzioka Waita

Nzioka Waita of CCU party has conceded defeat in Machakos County governor race.

“The great people of UG have spoken. Your decision has been  communicated at the ballot. We had our say of Uongozi ni sera, but the majority have had their way through universal suffrage,” said Buzeki.

Businessman Zedekiah Bundotich alias Buzeki has conceded defeat in the Uasin Gishu County gubernatorial race to his opponent Jonathan Bii (Koti moja) who garnered 214,036 votes against Buzeki‘s 127,013 votes.

Buzeki, who has now lost the gubernatorial race for the second time  congratulated his main opponent for the win.

“With official results announced by IEBC last night, I take this opportunity to congratulate the Governor elect as he takes over leadership,  in addressing developmental needs of our people,” he said.

“To my supporters, I thank you so much for your overwhelming support and believe in tai ole tai ideologies. We won the ideological War, but lost the election battle.  We will continue contributing to our Community’s socio economic needs where we can. Let’s now get out strongly to work and contribute to the development of our County. Politics are now behind us,” he added.

It was a mixture of new entrants and incumbents retaining their seat for the gubernatorial seat in the just concluded general election. 

A number of counties have seen new entrants given the fact that some governors had concluded their two terms of service.

Such counties were Homa Bay County where ODM’s Gladys Wanga floored Independent candidate Evans Kidero by garnering 244,559 votes against Kidero who managed to get 154,182 votes.

Busia County whose county boss was also transiting after serving for ten years saw ODM’s Paul Otuoma win the seat after garnering 164,478 against John Sakwa of ANC who emerged second with 92,144 votes.

In Migori County – ODM’s Ochilo Ayacko won the seat with 175,226 votes while DAP-K’s John Pesa comes second with 126,171 votes.

Things were however different in Kisumu where the incumbent Prof. Anyang’ Nyong’o was re-elected after garnering 319,957 against NDG’s Jack Ranguma who came second with 100,600 votes.

The first governor of West Pokot County UDA’s Simon Kachapin fought hard to reclaim his seat in this election after he was thrashed in the 2017 election after serving for only one term.

Kachapin garnered   86,476 votes to trounce incumbent Governor John Lonyangapuo.

In Nandi County, Stephen Kipyego Arap Sang of UDA was declared the winner after getting 237,045 votes followed by former Governor Cleophas Lagat of Independent with 54,375 votes.

In Uasin Gishu County, Jonathan Bii of UDA won the Uasin Gishu Governor seat with 214,036 edging Independent candidate Zedekiah Bundotich who garnered 127,013 votes.


Latest posts

Kenya calls for coordinated interventions to tackle famine

Margaret Kalekye

Simon Chelugui humbled after being retained as CS

Hunja Macharia

Gachagua meets Governors, security heads over insecurity in 6 counties

Beth Nyaga

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: