Presidential Provisional Results #KenyaDecides2022

“As a commission we call for patience among Kenyans as we undertake this vigorous exercise, we endeavour to complete this exercise as soon as possible,” IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati.

Presidential results have begun trickling in at the national tallying centre, Bomas of Kenya as tallying continues across 46,229 continues.

The exercise that was characterised by low voter turnout compared to 2017 started from 6:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Out of 22,102,532 registered voters, only 12,065,803 voted in the August 9 General Election 2022.

Speaking during a press briefing, Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Chairman Wafula Chebukati who appealed for patience said officials and presidential candidate agents will be verifying the results as they come in.

As of 8:05 am, the commission had received provisional results from 43,054 representing 93.13pc.

He said that the commission expected the constituency returning officers (CROs) to deliver forms 34A physically at the Bomas of Kenya, the national tallying centre, from Wednesday morning to pave the way for the verification process.

Chebukati said that once the CROs brought in the form 34As, the commission would start the verification process and update Kenyans on what is happening.

He assured that the kits cannot send results twice and the results announced at the polling stations are final and cannot be altered by anyone.

According to the law, the commission is required to announce presidential results within seven days.

Kiambu gubernatorial race

Moses Kuria has conceded defeat in the hotly contested Kiambu County governor’s race. Kuria was Gatundu South Member of Parliament since 2013.

On his twitter handle, he said he is happy to go back to the private sector.

Kuria, was vying for the Kiambu gubernatorial seat under the Chama Cha Kazi party alongside six other candidates among them the incumbent Kiambu Governor James Nyoro who was seeking re-election.

The other candidates include former Kiambu Governor William Kabogo (Tujibebe Party), former Kiambu Senator Kimani Wamatangi (UDA), Patrick Wainaina Wa Jungle (independent), Juliet Kimemia (KANU) and Mwende Gatabaki (Safina Party).

Manhunt launched for Kimilili MP Didmus Barasa

Police have launched a manhunt for Kimilili Member of Parliament Didmus Barasa over a shooting incident that left an aide to his opponent Brian Khaemba dead.

According to police reports, the incident took place at 6:00 pm at Chebukwani polling station where vote counting was underway.

Didmus Barasa 1
Kimilili Member of Parliament Didmus Barasa

Vote casting

The four presidential candidates voted early Tuesday morning in their respectful polling station.

Raila Odinga

Azimio La Umoja Coalition Party Presidential candidate Raila Odinga casted their votes at Old Kibera Primary School.

The Deputy President William Ruto arrives at Kosachei Primary School in Uasin Gishu County to cast his vote as he pledged to accept the election result.

Agano Party leader David Mwaure Waihiga voted at UpperHill Boys’ High School while Roots Party Presidential Candidate Prof. George Wajackoya voted at Matungu Constituency.








Latest posts

Taita-Taveta Governor on charm offensive to woo investors

Beth Nyaga

Police commander’s son kills himself in their Nairobi home

Margaret Kalekye

Family of seven wiped out by night fire in Embu

Margaret Kalekye

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: