Brigid Kosgei wins London Marathon

Written By: Bernard Okumu

The race featured a significantly different route, a looped 19.6 lap around St.James Park.

World women’s marathon record holder Kenya’s Brigid Kosgei retained her London women’s marathon by winning the 40th edition of the marathon held Sunday.

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

Kosgei won the race in 2:18:58.

American Sarah Hall out sprinted Kenya’s Ruth Chepng’etich with 200m to go to claim second in a lifetime best.

Chepng’etich, 4th fastest on all-time runners list settled for the third position.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

Brigid the youngest women’s world marathon record holder laid down the gauntlet by pulling away from the Ruth Chepng’etich with four laps to go to race to her second London Marathon title.

This year’s marathon was shunted from its annual April slot on the calendar due to the global outbreak of coronavirus.

Also Read  Fans at sporting events: Maximum of 4,000 to be allowed in England

The race featured a significantly different route, a looped 19.6 lap around St.James Park. She finished alone on The Mall in two hours 18 minutes and 58 seconds to claim the $30,000 (£23,200) prize.

She was almost five minutes outside her world record set in Chicago last year.

“The weather was not good so we struggled,” Kosgei told BBC Sport. “I struggled up to the moment I finished.

“We have not prepared well due to the pandemic. I will be prepared for good results next year.”

The London Marathon, rescheduled from its traditional April date because of the coronavirus pandemic, is taking place for elite runners only over 19 laps around St James’s Park.

The men’s Marathon is underway with Kenya’s Eliud Kipchoge, the world record holder bidding for a record fifth London title.

Also Read  Gor Mahia SG Ocholla accuses Chairman Rachier of impropriety

The usual mass participation event is happening virtually because of COVID-19 restrictions, while there are no spectators cheering on the runners.

Kenyans flooded social media with congratulatory messages with Sports CS Amina Mohammed, DP William Ruto and ODM leader Raila Odinga celebrated the sterling performance.


Tell Us What You Think