Long serving MPs floored in 2022 Elections

Majority of Kenya’s long serving Members of Parliament have been defeated in the just concluded General Elections held on August 9,2022.

Kitutu Chache North Member of Parliament Jimmy Angwenyi who is the longest serving lawmaker in the country having been elected for four consecutive terms was trounced by United Democratic Alliance candidate Japheth Nyakundi.

Nyakundi garnered 11,834 votes while the former managed 8,260 in the parliamentary contest.

Angwenyi was first elected to Parliament in 1996 on a Kanu ticket during a by election.

In Machakos,Victor Munyaka who was first elected in 2007 on an ODM–K ticket before falling out with the region’s kingpin and Wiper party leader Kalonzo Musyoka failed to retain his seat after losing to competitor Caleb Mule of Maendeleo Chap Chap.

Munyaka, trained veterinarian and a successful businessman operating an “agro-vet” business in Machakos town has been the area MP for 15 years now.

“I take this Opportunity to Congratulate Hon Caleb Mutiso Mule for winning the Machakos Town constituency. It was a stiff competition, and Machakos town constituency people have decided. I wish you all the best as you serve Machakos Town constituency people from where I left,” read part of his statement

The longest serving woman MP in the country having served as Taveta MP in Taita Taveta county for four terms Naomi Shaban was another victim after she conceded and congratulated her closest rival Bwire Akano of the Wiper Party who won the seat.

She first ventured into politics in 2001 when a by-election was called in Taita Taveta constituency following the resignation of Basil Criticos.

The defeat brings the curtain down to Shaban’s long political career and she will be remembered as one of the fierce women politicians in the Kenyan post-colonial legislature.

In the 2002 General Election despite strong opposition, she won the Taita Taveta parliamentary seat on a Kanu ticket.

Democratic Action Party of Kenya (DAP-K) Party leader Wafula Wamunyinyi lost Kanduyi parliamentary seat to Ford Kenya’s John Makali who emerged the winner after garnering 32,099 votes against Wamunyinyi’s 20,240 votes.

According to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), Makali beat Wamunyinyi after garnering 32,099 votes against his 20, 240.

Elsewhere,West Pokot and the former leader of Majority in the Senate Samuel Poghisio lost his position to Julius Murgor of UDA

The legislator, who first started the long and winding journey of politics in 1988 when he won the Kacheliba constituency seat on a Kanu ticket, lost his seat months later when was expelled by the independence party alongside the late Francis Lotodo who was his Kapenguria constituency counterpart.

The two MPs had accused the government of marginalising Pokot community.

Eleven years later, the MP made a strong comeback by trouncing Peter Nang’ole in 1997. He would later retain the seat in 2002 on a Kanu ticket.

In Kisumu, Kisumu West MP Olago Aluoch was dislodged from a seat he has held for 20 years.

This follows a win by ODM’s Rosa Buyu who garnered 39,615 votes followed by Olago who managed 19,045 votes. The race had attracted five other competitors.

It is not the first time the duo was facing off, after a similar contest in 2007 and 2013 ended with Olago winning.

Outgoing Kipipiri MP Amos Kimunya, who served as Majority Leader, lost to former Nyandarua Woman MP and EALA MP Wanjiku Muhia.

“We appreciate that life is dynamic, shaped by constantly emerging and often surprising circumstances. We did our best for Kipipiri, we are proud of our achievements, and that history will never be erased. The people have however made their choice, and we respect it. We wish them well.”


Latest posts

Foreign Affairs CS Nominee Mutua meets Uganda High Commissioner

Beth Nyaga

President Ruto gets new Aide-de-Camp

Beth Nyaga

President William Ruto attends Reriani Gachagua’s burial

Prudence Wanza

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: