LSK to hold nationwide elections Thursday

By Lola Nanjala 

The Law Society of Kenya will on Thursday conduct its nationwide elections in search for leadership that will steer the lawyers’ umbrella body for the next two years.

The much anticipated elections will be conducted by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission with the main tallying center being the Law Society of Kenya Secretariat in Lavington. Lawyers across the country will be seeking to elect the society’s President, Vice President, Council, Disciplinary Tribunal, Chairperson and Council of the Nairobi Branch and a female Representative to the Judicial Service Commission (JSC).

All eyes will however be on former President of East African Law Society James Mwamu, LSK Kisumu Branch Chairperson Isaac Okero and Allen Waiyaki Gichuhi all who are battling to succeed the outgoing LSK President Eric Mutua. Lawyers Jennifer Shamalla and Faith Waigwa are contenders for the position of Vice President.

Abuodha Jane Awuor, Mercy Mwarah Mbui, Marykaren Chesang, Florence Mwangangi and Jane Njeri Onyango are eyeing the position of LSK female representative to the Judicial Service Commission. Candidates for positions in the Advocates Disciplinary Tribunal are Christopher Orina, Gladys Wamaitha Karanja, Nyariki Maria-Goretti and Ambrose Weda.

7,672 advocates will elect a new team to replace the outgoing Eric Mutua led team, with elections set to begin at 8.30 in the morning at various High courts in the country.

Eric Mutua’s tenure comes to an end after serving two consecutive terms.


Latest posts

Embu County Gov’t on the spot over failure to complete dispensary

Beth Nyaga

Police officer robbed of his gun in Mombasa

Claire Wanja

Four arrested for the murder of a nurse in Busia

Claire Wanja

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More