Majority of IEBC selection panel members sworn in

By Rufus Hunja.

A few hours after taking over office, Chief Justice David Maraga presided over the swearing in of members of the IEBC selection panel paving way for the commencement of the search for a new IEBC chairperson as well as the six commissioners.

Of the nine members, eight were present to take the oath of office after Rajesh Rawal opted to withdraw from the panel.

With the Hindu Council expected to present a fresh name to replace Rajesh, National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi said the process is two weeks behind schedule and the panel must invite applications within the next seven days.

He called for a transparent recruitment process promising the support of Treasury in the provision of necessary resources to the panel during its tenure.

After receiving the applications, the panel will shortlist and subsequently interview the applicants and shall then forward to the President for appointment 1 name for the Chairperson’s post and 6 names for appointment as members of the commission.

Maraga urged the panel to appoint Kenyans of integrity who will be fair in the management of the electoral process.

Members of the selection panel are now expected to choose their chairperson and the deputy before Friday.


Latest posts

Kenya’s Covid-19 positivity rate drops to 4.9pc as 69 test positive

Beth Nyaga

CJ Koome emphasises importance of taking care of orphans

Beth Nyaga

Assistant Warden missing three weeks on, KWS appeals to public for help

Beth Nyaga

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More