Muguna wins SportPesa Premier League MVP 2016 award

By Beth Nyaga

Rookie Western Stima midfielder Kenneth Muguna is the 2016 SportPesa Premier League Most Valuable Player.

Muguna was named the coveted award’s winner on Tuesday evening at the Safari Park Hotel in Nairobi to much pomp and glamour. He walked away with Sh1 million in prize money.

Muguna’s achievement was especially special as this was his first season in Kenya’s top flight club football.

The 20-year old also won the Midfielder of the Year award and came second in the New Player of the Year category, feats which brought his total prize money collected to a whopping Sh1.6million, plus two flat-screen televisions as well as an LG K10 smart phone courtesy of event partners LG Electronics.

He floored fellow youngster Eric Ouma as well as veterans Humphrey Mieno, David Okello and league top scorer John Makwatta.

As expected Tusker’s Ugandan Paul Nkata won the Coach of the Year award, beating contenders Marcelo Ferreira to second place and Francis Baraza, third.

The Golden Glove award, whose winner took home half a million shillings, went to Posta Rangers custodian Patrick Matasi, with last year’s winner Boniface Oluoch and title winning goalkeeper David Okello bagging second and third positions respectively.

Veteran defender Joackins Atudo was named Defender of the Year, beating Gor Mahia centrer half Musa Mohammed and free kick master Noah Abich of Sofapaka.

The winners were selected through polling by coaches and captains of the KPL clubs and sports journalists.

In addition to cash awards, all winners of all categories went home with a 43-inch LG television sets while runners up won LG G10 phones, and second runners up microwaves.

Most Valuable Player

Kenneth Muguna

Coach of the Year

Paul Nkata (Tusker)

Marcelo Ferreira (Gor Mahia)

Francis Baraza (Chemelil Sugar)

Golden Boot

John Makwata (Ulinzi Stars)

Kepha Aswani (AFC Leopards)

Wycliffe Ochomo (Muhoroni Youth)

Golden Glove

Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers)

Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia)

David Okello (Tusker)

Defender of the Year

Joackins Atudo (Posta Rangers)

Musa Mohamed (Gor Mahia)

Noah Abich (Sofapaka)

Midfielder of the Year

Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)

Whyvonne Isuza (Mathare United)

Humphrey Mieno (Tusker)

Fair play Player of the Year

Ali Bai (Kakamega Homeboyz)

Jared Obwoge (Chemelil Sugar)

Amos Asembeka (Sony Sugar)

New Player of the Year

Eric Ouma (Gor Mahia)

Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)

Cavin Odongo (Posta Rangers)

Team Manager of the Year

George Opondo (Tusker)

David Mwangi (Ulinzi Stars)

Pascal Ochieng (Posta Rangers)

Fair Play Team of the Year

Kakamega Homeboyz

Mathare United

Western Stima

Assistant Referee of the Year

Gilbert Cheruiyot

Stephen Oduor

Mary Ann Njoroge

Referee of the Year

Anthony Ogwayo

Davies Omweno

Badr Yassin

Source: KPL


Latest posts

Wazito FC retains its place in FKF Premier League

Maxwell Wasike

Kenya loses World U20 title to Jamaica, finish fourth in Cali

Maxwell Wasike

Moraa is the 800m Commonwealth Games champion

Maxwell Wasike

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More