National Assembly endorses Chebukati’s appointment as IEBC chair

By Edward Kabasa

The National Assembly has approved the appointment of Wafula Chebukati as chairperson of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.

Chebukati who now awaits to be sworn in alongside other seven Commissioners is set to take charge at IEBC with just seven months to the general election.

Wafula Chebukati becomes the new chairperson of the commission, alongside Kibiwott Kurgat, Boya Molu, Abdi Guliye, Roselyn Kwamboka Akombe, Margaret Wanjala and Consolata Nkatha Bucha Maina who have all been appointed as members.

The appointment of the Chibukati-led team comes at a time when the opposition has been pushing for the Isaac Hassan team to vacate office.

The Seven Commissioners whose appointment come at a time when there has been so much acrimony over the recently amended election laws are expected to hit the ground running, among other duties to oversee the ongoing mass voter registration exercise.



Latest posts

LG hands over Kshs 8.9M equal learning facilities in Machakos

Claire Wanja

EAC Bloc: EABC calls for reduction of air transport charges

Claire Wanja

Health CS calls for innovative health financing to address emerging challenges

Christine Muchira

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More