National Rugby Sevens team named

By Beth Nyaga

The National Rugby Sevens team which will take part in the last two legs of the HSBC Sevens World Series in Paris and London has been named.

The head coach Benjamine Ayimbamaking made only two changes to the squad that won the Singapore sevens last month.

Strathmore Leos duo of Billy Odhiambo and Alex Olaba are the new faces in the squad.

Alvin Otieno and Samuel Motari will be replaced by the new comers.

After writing history  by winning their first World sevens series title, in Singapore last month, the National Rugby Sevens team  has now trained their guns on the next two legs of the IRB sevens in Paris and London hoping to replicate the good performance they registered in Singapore last month.

Odhiambo was last in action at the Vancouver Sevens while Olaba and was part of the Kenya Under- 18 Sevens team.

KCB’s Andrew Amonde will make the journey to Paris as a captain together with his team mates, William Ambaka, Samuel Oliech, Nelson Oyoo, Robert Aringo, Augustine Lugonzo, Oscar Ayodi, Frank Wanyama, Humphery Kayange and Collins Injera. 

The team which leaves the country this Sunday for Paris are in Pool  ‘A’  together with New Zealand, Portugal and Russia  and will play Portugal in opener.


Latest posts

Kenya leads medal tally in Africa at the 24th summer Deaflympics

Maxwell Wasike

Elikana Rono new kid on 800M block

Maxwell Wasike

Shikanda:Kenyans should exercise patience with the government amid talks with FIFA

Maxwell Wasike

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More