Senators and National Assembly members take oath of office

Written By: Margaret Kalekye

Mps Induction
New Senators, MPs take oath of office

National Assembly and Senate members of the 12th Parliament were sworn in Thursday prior to the election of speakers of both houses. 

The leaders met for the first time in Parliament Wednesday for housekeeping briefings.

336 elected legislators were sworn in the national assembly while 47 senators took the oath of office.

The swearing in of the MPs was conducted by the Clerk who began by reading the Communication that has convened the 12th Parliament. Swearing in of the MPs took most of the day.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 22163

Legislators allied to the National Super Alliance had previously threatened to boycott the first sitting until the Supreme Court made the final ruling on the contentious Presidential results.

Also Read  Relief as weatherman predicts rains across the country

Both houses are legislators will then elected their respective house speakers where Justin Muturi retained his seat while former Bungoma governor was elected Senate speaker.

President Uhuru Kenyatta’s Jubilee party had unanimously agreed to front Justin Muturi as National Assembly Speaker and ex-Bungoma Governor Ken Lusaka as Senate Speaker.

Muturi will deputized by Kuresoi North Mp Moses Cheboi while Kithure Kindiki will serve as Deputy Senate speaker.

The Jubilee Party also agreed to front Garissa town MP-elect Adan Duale as Leader of Majority in the national assembly while Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen will be senate majority leader.

Also Read  Judicial officer burned to death in dispute over son's burial

Duale will be deputized by Kitutu Chache North MP Jimmy Angwenyi while Murkomen will be deputized by Isiolo senator Fatuma Dulo.

Mumias East MP Benjamin Jomo Washiali was endorsed as chief Whip of the national assembly and is to be deputized by former Runyenjes MP Cecily Mbarire.

Others are Nakuru Senator Susan Kihika for chief whip and Murang’a senator Irungu Kang’ata for senate Deputy chief whip.


Read related: Petition ruling

Also Read  Murang’a woman kills husband, attempts to secretly bury body

The leaders take oath of office a day before Supreme Court deliver’s the much awaited grand ruling on presidential petition.

The seven judge bench retreated for two days Wednesday to write their judgment on the 2017 Presidential Election petition after the counsels for the petitioners and respondents concluded their oral submissions Tuesday evening.

The bench led by Chief Justice David Maraga is perusing through submissions by NASA and the respondents before delivering their final verdict on Friday.

The Petition was filed by NASA flag bearer in the 2017 General Election Raila Odinga and his running mate Kalonzo Musyoka.


Tell Us What You Think