NHIF to cover COVID-19 patients in MoH designated facilities

The National Hospital Insurance Fund, NHIF, will cater for Coronavirus- related costs in only Ministry of Health designated facilities.

In a statement to newsrooms, NHIF Chief Executive Officer, Dr Peter Kamunyo said they shall support all COVID-19 positive members and their declared beneficiaries who get admitted to MoH designated facilities.

The facilities include Kenyatta National Teaching and Referral Hospital, Kenyatta University Teaching Referral and Research Hospital and Mbagathi County Hospital.

Others are; county-designated facilities and any other facility that may be designated by the ministry.

Kenya on Monday recorded 440 new COVID-19 cases out of 3,197 samples tested in the last 24 hours, bringing to 17,975 the number of positive cases.

The cumulative testes now stand at 279, 612.

In his statement, Health CS Mutahi Kagwe said from the 440 cases 437 were Kenyans while 3 were foreigners, with 286 males and 154 females.

The youngest case was a one-year-old infant, while the oldest was an 84-year-old.

90 patients were discharged from various hospitals, bringing the total number of recoveries to 7,833.

On a sad note, five patients succumbed to the disease bringing the number of fatality to 285.

The distribution of cases by counties was as follows; Nairobi 326, Machakos 32, Kajiado 17, Kiambu 17, Uasin Gishu 13, Mombasa 10, Muranga 5, Baringo 5, Kilifi 5, Busia 2, Wajir 2, Nandi 2, Nyeri 1, Embu 1, Taita Taveta 1 and Tharaka-Nithi 1.

Baringo now becomes the 45th County to record a case.

In Nairobi, the 326 cases are in Langata (59), Embakasi East (46), Westlands (38), Embakasi West (29), Kibra (23) Dagoretti North (17) Embakasi South (16), Kasarani (16), Makadara (15), Embakasi Central (14), Embakasi North (13), Roysambu (10), Ruaraka (10), Starehe (10), Kamukunji (6), Dagoretti South (3), Mathare (1).

In Machakos the 32 cases are in Machakos Town (16), Athi River (15) and Kangundo (1).

The 17 new cases in Kajiado are in; Kajiado East (11), Kajiado North (3) and Kajiado Central (3).

In Kiambu, the 17 cases are in; Ruiru (6), Kiambu Town (5), Kiambaa (2), Thika (2), Kabete (1), and Limuru (1).

In Uasin Gishu the 13 cases are in Ainabkoi (11), Kapseret (1), and Kesses (1) while in Mombasa the 10 cases are in; Mvita (4), Jomvu (2), Nyali (2) Changamwe (1), and Likoni (1).

In Murang’a the 5 cases are in Kiharu (2), Gatanga, Maragua and Mathioya (1) case each. In Baringo all the 5 cases are in Marigat.

In Kilifi the 5 cases are in Kaloleni (4) and Rabai (1) while in Busia the 2 cases are in Matayos and Teso North.

The two cases from Wajir are in Wajir East. In Nyeri the 1 case is in Nyeri Central, in Embu the 1 case is in Mbeere North, in Nandi the 1 case is in Emgwen, in Taita Taveta the case is in Voi while in Tharaka Nithi the 1 case is in Chuka.


Latest posts

Three more hospitals constructed by NMS in informal settlements

Christine Muchira

Auditor General to scrutinise public agencies on unclaimed financial assets reporting

Christine Muchira

Covid-19 claims 12 as 511 more test positive

Muraya Kamunde

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More