ODM de-whips 7 rebel members

By Kennedy Epalat/Beth Nyaga

The ODM party has de-whipped its seven rebel members from all the parliamentary committees in a move that seeks to enforce discipline within the party.

National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi informed the House Tuesday afternoon of the decision, communicated to him by ODM Chief Whip Thomas Mwadeghu in a letter sent to him.

Those discharged from the parliamentary committees are Ababu Namwamba (Budalangi), Eng. James Rege (Rachuonyo), Major (rtd) John Waluke (Sirisia), Stephen Kariuki (Mathare), Mpuri Aburi (Tigania East), Cyprian Iringo (Igembe Central) and Nominated MP Isaac Mwaura. Apart from Namwamba who is now the leader of FPK, the rest have declared publicly their support for the Jubilee party.

While communicating the decision by ODM to the House, Speaker Muturi said the notice by the party is in line with the standing orders.

However on a point of Order, the Chair of Justice and Legal Affairs Samuel Chepkonga drew the attention of the Speaker to a petition by over 100 members to amend the standing orders in order to remove provisions that go against the constitutional rights of MPs.

But Muturi declined to allow debate on the matter and asked members to debate the recommendation of the report on amendments to Standing Orders once the Committee on Rules and Procedures tables its report before the House.

During the launch of the Jubilee party last month, over twenty MPs from the opposition ditched their parties to join Jubilee.

Among them are KANU MPs Prof Helen Sambili (Mogotio), Samwel Moroto, Eric Keter (Belgut) and Kuresoi North’s Moses Cheboi.

Others are Wiper’s Regina Ndambuki, Joe Mutambu, Raphael Munuve, Kisoi Munyao (Mbooni) and Ford-Kenya’s national chairman and Turkana Senator John Munyes among others.


Latest posts

DP Ruto postpones public engagements until further notice

Beth Nyaga

23 High Court Judges transferred in latest Judiciary reshuffle

Beth Nyaga

Kibera man sentenced to life imprisonment for raping minor daughter

Eric Biegon

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More