Oparanya re-elected unopposed as CoG chair


Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya re-elected unopposed

Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya has been re-elected unopposed as the chairman Council of Governors (COG).

Oparanya’s re-election cements the COG’s unwritten tradition of bosses serving two terms.

Governor Mwangi wa Iria retained his position as deputy chairman of the council after a landslide win. The post was contested by Uasin Gishu Governor Jackson Mandago.

Also Read  NCIC warns politicians against incitement and hate speech

Governor Kivutha Kibwana was elected as the Chief whip.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

The Kakamega governor took over the helm at the CoG in January 2019 from his Turkana counterpart Josephat Nanok.

Also Read  Chief Magistrate Francis Andayi withdraws from Babu Owino’s case

Nanok served from May 2017 to January 2019. Nanok’s predecessor was Peter Munya who serve from May 2015 to May 2017.

Also Read  Counties to receive Ksh 316.5 billion in next financial year

Munya was then the governor of Meru County. He now serves in President Uhuru Kenyatta’s Cabinet as the Agriculture Cabinet secretary.



Tell Us What You Think