Politicians with sports background elected MPs

The 2022 General Elections saw politicians with sporting backgrounds elected as Members of Parliament.

SportPesa CEO Captain Ronald Karauri was declared the MP elect of Kasarani Constituency after emerging winner of the hotly-contested exercise that saw him garner 32,406 votes against his opponents John Kamau who got 30,444 and incumbent MP Mercy Gakuya who had 24,790 votes.

Just like his father Mathew Adams Karauri who represented Tigania in Meru County, the youthful Karauri is expected to use his wealth of experience in sports management to push for better legislative policies of the sector in the country in a bid to empower the athletes.

Karauri started SportPesa together with businessman Paul Wanderi Ndung’u and Asenath Wachera Maina, under the ‘Shinda Smart’ lottery.

A few years later, the SportPesa brand was a huge name in Kenya and spread its wings beyond in support of highly rated sporting entities including Premier League sides Everton and Southampton

The former Chairman of the Kenya Secondary School Sports Association (KSSSA) Peter Orero who was the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party candidate for the Kibra parliamentary seat won the seat with 33,008 votes.

The Kenya Basketball Federation (KBF) treasurer defeated his former Kamukunji High school student and UEFA Champions League winner with Serie A club Inter Milan McDonald Mariga who vied on a United Democratic Alliance (UDA) ticket coming in second with 20,049 votes.

The outgoing legislator Imran Okoth who was vying as independent came third with 18,901 votes.

In Makadara Constituency still in Nairobi County, former Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Premier League side AFC Leopards Secretary General George Aladwa retained his seat.

The former Nairobi Mayor got 32,332 votes beating his rival from UDA Antony Waithaka who garnered 28,545 votes.

Others who clinched elective positions besides having football affiliation were former AFC Leopards Assistant Secretaries Catherine Omanyo and Geoffrey Mulanya.

The two were were elected Busia County Woman Representative and Nambale Member of Parliament respectively.

The ex-Coastal Kenya Premier League team Bandari FC patron and former Kenya Ports Authority (KPA) Managing Director Dr. Daniel Manduku is the MP elect for Nyaribari Masaba Constituency.

“During his time, we won the Shield and finished as league runners up twice. We punched above our weights at the continental scene courtesy of his support.He loved the club and gave us a helping hand and we hope he will continue supporting us,” said the former Kenyan international and team manager Vincent Oburu.

However, it was a bad in the office for the 2012 Boston Marathon Champion and former Cherangany Member of Parliament Wesley Korir who lost his comeback via a slim margin after garnering 26,078 votes behind the eventual winner Patrick Simiyu of the Democratic Action Party of Kenya (DAP-K) who managed 26,748 votes.

The incumbent and Jubilee party Deputy Secretary General Joshua Kutuny got 5,312 votes.


Latest posts

Arsenal beat 10-man Tottenham to go four clear

Bernard Okumu

Kenyan Premier League kick off dates moved again

Bernard Okumu

World Cup 2022: KBC TV to air 28 matches

Bernard Okumu

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: