Preliminary results of fresh Presidential poll trickling in

Vote Counting is currently ongoing in a majority of polling stations across the Country with results now trickling in at the National tallying center in Bomas.

According to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission several returning officers have arrived at Bomas with the hard copies of the results they sent electronically.

The Commission says 35, 564 polling stations opened for the poll on Thursday while over 5000 polling stations didn’t.

President Uhuru Kenyatta is leading the Presidential results tally in a majority of the Constituencies amid concerns of low voter turnout.

NASA flag bearer Raila Odinga has also garnered a considerable number of votes even after he boycotted the election and urged his supporters to stay at home.

In Yatta constituency where 6229 votes were cast, Uhuru garnered 5828 votes while Raila has 313 votes. The situation is replicated in Matungulu constituency where Uhuru leads with 9024 followed by Raila with 353.

In Machakos Constituency Uhuru Kenyatta has garnered 10,369 votes while Raila has 435 votes in a constituency with 109,931 registered voters.

Mbeere south Constituency however represents a different scenario with a 60% voter turnout where Uhuru leads with 42, 535 votes while Raila has garnered 414 votes.

Uhuru also leads in Narok South constituency with 25854 votes with Raila second with 204 votes. In Kilgoris constituency Uhuru has garnered 27876 votes while Raila has 483 votes.

Turnout was quite impressive in Gatundu North Constituency where President Uhuru got 58,387 with Raila securing 41Votes.

The election was seamless in a majority of Jubilee party strongholds although voter turnout was too low compared to August 8th.

In Kisumu, Homabay, Migori and Siaya Counties the exercise didn’t even commence after residents blocked attempts by IEBC officials to transport materials to respective polling stations.

Commission Chairperson Wafula Chebukati however says the election will be held tomorrow in the four Counties even as NASA leaders said the exercise will not go on as planned.

And as vote counting continues, tension is high at Rongai constituency tallying center with the Returning officer saying he can’t announce the constituency results since some presiding officers have not signed form 34A.



Latest posts

MPs ponder law change following fuel hike uproar

Ronald Owili

313 test positive as 13 succumb to Covid-19

Christine Muchira

Three arrested for selling heroin in Mwingi town

Beth Nyaga

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More