President Kenyatta unveils new post in ministries

The creation of the position of Chief Administrative Secretary has seen the entry of politicians who flopped in the August general elections into government.

Former Budalangi MP Ababu Namwamba, former West Pokot Simon Kachapin and former Nairobi Woman Rep Rachael Shebesh, are some of the beneficiaries of the newly created post.

Peter Munya, Ukur Yattani and John Munyes all who failed in their gubernatorial bids have made a comeback as President Kenyatta’s CS’s.

7 of the CS’s who served in Kenyatta’s first term have been demoted to the less flowery Ambassadorial.

President Uhuru Kenyatta has created the position of Administrative Secretary with the duties largely undefined.

While the 2010 constitution does not provide for the position of Assistant Cabinet Secretary, the President appears to have tried to jump the legal hurdle by creating the position of Chief Administrative Secretary in a move seen as a bid to appease politicians who supported his bid for the Presidency.

The beneficiaries of the newly created post include Former Budalangi MP Ababu Namwamba who will the CAS Foreign Affairs, former Nairobi Woman Rep Rachael Shebesh who will be the CAS Public Service, Youth and Gender.

Former Kisumu Central Mp Ken Obura will be the CAS African Cooperation and the Northern Corridor.

Former Narok West MP and Narok Gubernatorial aspirant Patrick Ole Ntutu will be the CAS Interior and Cordination of National Government.

Former Tana River Governor Hussein Dhado will be the CAS Devolution with Coast Regional Coordinator Nelson Marwa having ascended to the position of PS in the ministry.

Former Kisii Senator Chris Obure will be the CAS Ministry of Transport while former West Pokot Governor Simon Kachapin will be the CAS Ministry of Education.

But the announcement too has come with mixed feelings particularly amongst those in the list.

The biggest winners in the unveiled list include former Meru Governor Peter Munya who will be the CS East African Cooperation and the Northern Corridor, Public Service Commission Chair and a member of the Judicial Service Commission Margaret Kobia who will head the ministry of Public Service, Youth and Gender Affairs, Foreign Affairs PS Monica Juma who will replace her boss Amina Mohammed at the helm of the docket. Simon Chelugui, Gideon Moi’s biggest challenger in the Baringo Senatorial seat will be the CS for water while little known Rashida Achesa has been appointed CS for Sports.

President Kenyatta raided the media industry with the appointment of Royal Media’s Chief Operations Officer Faridah Karoney to the Lands Ministry.

John Munyes former Turkana Senator, Ukur Yattani former Marsabit Governor and Keriako Tobiko former Director of Public prosecutions all who had been appointed to the cabinet will head the Ministries of Petroleum and Mining, Labour and Environment and Forestry respectively.

Jubilee Party Secretary General Raphael Tuju has been co-opted into the cabinet on need basis which means that he will be a CS without a substantive portfolio.

Nine cabinet secretaries who served in Kenyatta’s first term have been demoted from their influential positions of CS’s to the less flowery Ambassadorial positions.

Mining CS Dan Kazungu heads to Arusha as Kenya’s ambassador to Tanzania, Lands CS Jacob Kaimenyi will be Kenya’s representative to UNESCO, while Labour CS Phylis Kandie heads to Brussels as Kenya’s ambassador to Belgium and the European Union.

Environment CS Judi Wakhungu heads to Paris as Kenya’s ambassador to France, Sports CS Hassan Wario will be Kenya’s High Commissioner to Austria, Health CS Cleopha Mailu will Kenya’s permanent Rep to UN replacing Macharia Kamau who heads back home as Principal Secretary Ministry of Foreign Affairs while Agriculture CS Willy Bett will be Kenya’ High Commissioner to India.

Also read


Latest posts

10 suspected gang members in custody, crude weapons recovered

Beth Nyaga

One Kenya Alliance still intact says Gideon Moi

Claire Wanja

Government embarks on Tsavo restoration project

Claire Wanja

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More