President Kenyatta nominates Wafula Chebukati for IEBC Chair

By Beth Nyaga

President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated Wafula Chebukati to be the new IEBC Chairperson.

The President has further nominated 6 members of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.

The seven names have been forwarded to parliament and are expected to be vetted in January when the house resumes from recess.

According to a statement from State House Spokeperson Manoah Esipisu, the president also nominated Consolata Bucha, Boya Molu, Roselyn Akombe, Paul Kurgat, Margaret Wanjala and Abdi Guliye to be IEBC commissioners.

The positions attracted more than 700 applications.

Six lawyers and a judge were among 13 applicants to the position of chairperson.

The recruitment of the new commissioners arose from the enactment of amendments to the IEBC Act, which led to the resignation of the previous ones.

This followed a negotiated process between Jubilee and Cord after the opposition held protests to demand the removal of the commissioners.

The law requires the commissioners to be appointed six months before the General Election.


Latest posts

10 suspected gang members in custody, crude weapons recovered

Beth Nyaga

One Kenya Alliance still intact says Gideon Moi

Claire Wanja

Government embarks on Tsavo restoration project

Claire Wanja

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More